Contact Us

Phone: 215.746.3535 (main office line, 24/7). The automated menu lists all available options including making an appointment, getting in touch with various offices within SHS (like insurance and immunization compliance), contacting the administration, addressing urgent medical issues, and requesting medication refills.

Online Appointment Scheduling: Bypass the phone system and go directly to the web! Click on "Schedule an Appointment" in our main menu for detailed instructions, access the on-line portal directly at http://shs.upenn.edu/ (PennKey login required)

If the office is closed and you have an urgent medical issue please call 215.746.3535 and press option 1. Let the operator know you need to speak to the Student Health provider on call. In a true medical emergency, call 9-1-1 (or 5-1-1 from campus phones).

Billing issues or concerns: shsbill@pobox.upenn.edu.

Complaints or Other Concerns: If you have any comments about your care, about patient safety issues, or about discrimination concerns, please notify Student Health Service administration by phone at 215-746-3535 or by e-mail at shs@pobox.upenn.edu. The Office of the Vice Provost for University Life is available by phone at 215-898-6081 if the Student Health Service cannot resolve your concerns. You may also contact The Joint Commission online at www.jointcommission.org or via e-mail at patientsafetyreport@jointcommission.org. Questions or complaints about Penn's Nondiscrimination Policy should be directed to the Office of Affirmative Action and Equal Opportunity Programs, Sansom Place East, 3600 Chestnut Street, Suite 228, Philadelphia, PA 19104-6106 or by phone, at (215) 898-6993 (Voice) or (215) 898-7803 (TDD).


MEDIA INQUIRIES: Reporters/journalists should not contact SHS directly. Press photos at SHS are not allowed without prior appointment and approval. Please visit www.vpul.upenn.edu/media.php for contact and additional information.

 



SHS Location

Student Health Service
3535 Market Street (36th and Market)
Suite 100 (floor 1)
Philadelphia, PA 19104

SHS is 3 blocks north of the Penn Bookstore. We are located just blocks from two of our University hosptials: Hospital of University of Pennsylvania and Penn Presbyterian Medical Center. We are accessible via public transportation, including the 34th and Market stop on the Market-Frankford Subway (the "El") and the 36th and Sansom stop on the #10 trolley.

SHS is located in the 3535 Market office building at the corner of 36th and Market. If you see Subway Sandwiches, PNC Bank or FedEx you are in the right building.

Our office, suite 100, is on the first floor, above the ground and mezzanine levels. From the elevator lobby, press 1 to summon elevator car �" the screen tells you which car to take (A, B, C, etc). Watch for your assigned car to arrive (don't take the other ones - they won't stop on your floor). Enter the assigned elevator… No need to press any button again upon entering the elevator. Exit the elevator at level 1. Use your PennCard to open the door to our main lobby.

SHS_map_36th_market_and_outside_building_resize.jpg



Important Numbers


Main Line for SHS

215-746-3535
Fax: 215-746-0800

Pill Refill Line215-746-1020
Medical Records

215-746-0845
Email:vpul-shsmr@pobox.upenn.edu

Fax:  215-746-0847
Billing

215-746-0928
215-746-0929

Insurance

215-746-3535, Option #3
Email: vpul-shsinsur@pobox.upenn.edu
Fax: 215-746-0904

Immunization Compliance

215-746-3535, Option #4
EMail:vpul-immun@pobox.upenn.edu
Fax: 215-746-0909






Staff Directory


PRIMARY CARE PROVIDERS

First Name          Last Name                           Email
Mariellen             Benedetto                         mariellb@exchange.upenn.edu
Sallyann             Bowman                            sbowman@upenn.edu
Julia                   Burton (Mills)                     jumills@pobox.upenn.edu
Lisa                    Flaherty                            lisaflah@pobox.upenn.edu
R. Adam             Kellis                                kellis@upenn.edu
Alice                  Gallagher                           alicegal@upenn.edu
Kathleen             Kearney                            kearneyk@upenn.edu
Sigrid                  Larson                              slarson@upenn.edu
Daniel                 Meyer                               meyerdk@upenn.edu
Deborah             Niles                                  dniles@upenn.edu
Susanna             Randall                             randall@upenn.edu
Vanessa             Stoloff                                 vstoloff@upenn.edu
Amanda              Swain                               ajswain@upenn.edu
Leslie                 Thompson                         lthompso@upenn.edu
Pat                     Urevick                              urevick@upenn.edu


SPORTS MEDICINE

First Name          Last Name                           Email
Christina                Paul                          chpaul@upenn.edu
Nicole                    Otto                          notto@upenn.edu
Seema                  Vasu                         vasus@upenn.edu
James (Jay)          Effrece                      effrece@exchange.upenn.edu


WOMEN'S HEALTH

First Name          Last Name                           Email
Janice                   Asher                         asherj@upenn.edu
Deborah                Mathis                        mathis@upenn.edu
Joyce                    McNeill                        mcneillj@upenn.edu
Connie                  Murphy                        murphyco@upenn.edu
Perri                     Stella                           pstella@upenn.edu


PATIENT SERVICES

First Name          Last Name                           Role                                                 Email
Melanie                Morrison                       Clinical Practice Manager              melanne@upenn.edu
O'Keea                Carthorne                      Referral Coordinator                       seaber@upenn.edu
Erin                     Taylor                             Health Counselor                           taylorer@upenn.edu
Sandi                   Herman                         Health Counselor                           sandrah3@pobox.upenn.edu
Anne                   Cunningham                  Nurse Manager                              annec@upenn.edu
Colleen               Young                            Nutritionist                                    colleeky@upenn.edu
Deborah              Westerling                     Nutritionist                                     dewest@upenn.edu
Melissa               Bottiglio                          Patient  Care Manager                    bottigli@upenn.edu

 

ADMINISTRATION

Name                                                         Role                                    Email
Giang Nguyen, MD MPH MSCE     Executive Director               gnguyen@upenn.edu
Sallyann Bowman, MD                   Deputy Director                    sbowman@upenn.edu
Erika Gross, MBA, MS                   Director of Finance               egross@upenn.edu
Ashlee Halbritter, MPH                   Director, Campus Health     ashleeh@upenn.edu
Lamar Smith                                   Executive Assistant             lamars@upenn.edu


IMMUNIZATION & INSURANCE COMPLIANCE

First Name          Last Name                           Role                                                 Email
Dennis                 Shinners                   Compliance and Privacy Officer                  shinners@upenn.edu
Caryn                   Baxter                       Immunization Compliance Coordinator        baxterca@upenn.edu
Rajeena               Philips                       Insurance Compliance Coordinator              rphilips@upenn.edu
Barbara               Hamilton                    Insurance Compliance Coordinator              bhami@upenn.edu


PENN STUDENT INSURANCE PLAN (PSIP)

First Name          Last Name                           Role                                                        Email
Deborah               Olson               Account Representative Aetna Student Health         debolson@upenn.edu


CAMPUS HEALTH INITIATIVES

First Name          Last Name                    Role                                                 Email
Ashlee                 Halbritter              Director, Campus Health               ashleeh@upenn.edu
Rebecca              Huxta                   Public Health Specialist                 rhuxta@upenn.edu
Toyosi                  Sonyii                   Public Health Data Analyst            tsoniyi@upenn.edu